REALTIME FLOWS    U. Kern: n/a cfs    L. Kern: 1341 cfs    E.W: 312 cfs    U. Owens: 108 cfs    L. Owens: 496 cfs   09/02/19 1:15 PM PST

Road Trip Advice Thread

For topics that don't seem to have a home elsewhere.

Road Trip Advice Thread

Postby MrBiggs » June 19th, 2015, 9:33 am

Well, it finally happened. I graduated UCLA. I'm moving out of SoCal and headed up to Bellingham, WA to start a job at Western Washington University. Wifey and I are packing the apartment up into a truck and all our camping stuff (plus the dog) into our car. Road trip will be the whole month of July and will go way out of our way to have some fun in the mountains.

There's a lot of new territory for me, and I'm soliciting ideas from you fine folks. I don't want to blow any spots up, so if you have any advice that you want kept off the net please feel free to PM me and I'll keep it mum.

So with that, here are some places where I'm begging for some info. Fishing, campgrounds that anyone likes (or hates), anything at all would be helpful:

Uinta-Wasatch-Cache National Forest (we'll be in Park City for a couple of days, but in the mountains for a couple of more. It looked like there were alpine lakes on the map, but there's sparse info on the net.
Jackson / Tetons
Glacier
North Olympics

And really, if there's anything that you think is worth seeing I'd love to hear about it. We're new to this. I have been hunkered down in a lab for the last... many years... and we want to go get some fresh air and see some beautiful places. I appreciate any and all advice and comments.
MrBiggs

Re: Road Trip Advice Thread

Postby fly addict » June 19th, 2015, 10:58 am