REALTIME FLOWS    U. Kern: n/a cfs    L. Kern: 1341 cfs    E.W: 312 cfs    U. Owens: 108 cfs    L. Owens: 496 cfs   09/02/19 1:15 PM PST

waders

For topics that don't seem to have a home elsewhere.

waders

Postby Wanderer » August 15th, 2016, 1:34 pm

Lots of questions here:
Chest waist or thigh?
I fished in thigh waders on a guide trip through mammoth a few years back and liked how they felt and the ease of getting them on off etc.
mostly I fish mountain streams that are pretty shallow I rarely if ever fish big water.
boots on or just socks ?
I need to get some but as with all things fun it is only in the budget after the bills are paid so it needs to be economical
so what brands are good economical and not cheaply made,
this might seem dumb but don't criticize me do i have to use wading boots. I am a geologist and have slew of tough boots that have good traction and are insulated.

and hey if I was rich i would buy the best quality product but I am poor. so >>>>
Thanks in advance
Wanderer

Re: waders

Postby Wildman » August 15th, 2016, 1:56 pm

buy a full set of waders with booties. You can buy a quality pair from Orivis or a number of others that have a strong warranty. Buy a set of wading boots to go with it (a size larger) You can buy a pair that will last for years for 120 bucks. I like felt bottoms but that is my comfort zone. You can roll the upper and suspenders down and just have the pants if you like. If you fish the Sierras or the Kern....you need full waders.

You might find stuff cheaper on Amazon or ebay but you won't get the warranty. I've had this pair of Simms waders for five years now and I love them. Got them after wearing a pair of Simms that they replaced on a warranty and had them for five years.
"Tomorrow is the most important thing in life. Comes into us at midnight very clean. It's perfect when it arrives and it puts itself in our hands. It hopes we've learnt something from yesterday."
John Wayne
Wildman
Site Admin