REALTIME FLOWS    U. Kern: n/a cfs    L. Kern: 1341 cfs    E.W: 312 cfs    U. Owens: 108 cfs    L. Owens: 496 cfs   09/02/19 1:15 PM PST

My favorite piece of backpacking gear

For topics that don't seem to have a home elsewhere.

My favorite piece of backpacking gear

Postby Papasequoia » June 9th, 2009, 11:44 pm

The "backpacking angler" thread got me to thinking about what people's favorite piece of backpacking gear might be. You know, the thing you wouldn't do without no matter what the weight. I don't mean (necessarily) an essential, like matches, but then again, it doesn't have to be a luxury either. What is it that you drag along with you, all the time, and why? It could be something small (a lucky charm of some sort?), maybe a favorite old flask, you get the idea.

Mine is actually two (wow, cheating already, a new record!) But they have to go together. It's a thermarest-style pad with the chair assembly to turn it into a camp chair. I've been backpacking for almost forty years now (old fart) and I can tell you that the only thing that beats a supremely comfortable pad for sleeping is a comfy camp chair with a backrest. In the "olden days" I went with the all kinds of things to save weight, from nothing (back in the days when it was ok to use pine boughs) to closed cell foam pads that were trimmed to the minimum. But the first time I slept on a thermarest pad it was so good I had a smoke and had to change my underwear. Lounging by a fire, stretched out in my comfy reclining chair = luxury x 10. Compared to sitting on cold rocks, damp logs, the ground, etc., nothing beats it. When I have forgotten it, life is not the same. Heavy? Yes. Leave it behind on purpose? Never.

So what's your favorite or can't do without it piece of backpacking gear?
Nature always wins.
> miles = < people
Camp in the mountains, not the left lane!
Papasequoia

Re: My favorite piece of backpacking gear

Postby anacrime » June 9th, 2009, 11:48 pm

Golite Ether Wind Shirt @ 3.55oz