REALTIME FLOWS    U. Kern: n/a cfs    L. Kern: 1341 cfs    E.W: 312 cfs    U. Owens: 108 cfs    L. Owens: 496 cfs   09/02/19 1:15 PM PST

Floatants

For topics that don't seem to have a home elsewhere.

Floatants

Postby ptflashback » November 6th, 2011, 5:59 am

I'm no expert with the dry, but occasionally toss a stimmi or hopper when nymphing. Here's my new head scratcher: what dry fly floatant is "the best." In the alternative, what products or TTPs (that's Army talk for tactics, techniques, and procedures) have you found successful?

I've tried some decent products. Frog's Fanny, Gink, and a whole bunch of shakes. I like the Frog's Fanny, but that little applicator brush gets to be a pain in the * when applying on the water. As for gels and shakes, never had a lot of luck with them. Additionally, I think that Rayfound posted a year or so ago that he purchased fumed silica in bulk at Home Depot. Is this product the same? (I ask because I refuse to believe that gear / products manufacturers could take a product, re-brand it with clever packaging, and sell it to the masses at inflated cost.)

Here comes what may be the dumbest question ever - Has anyone ever attempted to prep with Scothguard? Is this lunacy or would this work. What say ye Addicts? :doh:
ptflashback

Re: Floatants

Postby fly addict » November 6th, 2011, 8:11 am