REALTIME FLOWS    U. Kern: n/a cfs    L. Kern: 1341 cfs    E.W: 312 cfs    U. Owens: 108 cfs    L. Owens: 496 cfs   09/02/19 1:15 PM PST

Lens color

For topics that don't seem to have a home elsewhere.

Lens color

Postby duckdog » February 11th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Copper, Rose, Brown,Amber,Yellow,Blue-BLUE ! East side streams, low light ,bright light, we all have our favorites . Oakley, Smith Optics, Orvis, etc. so many choices. Do you have a favorite ? Can you get by with just one pair of sunglasses ?
duckdog

Re: Lens color

Postby darrin terry » February 11th, 2012, 9:41 pm

I get by with and am quite happy with the cheap ($20) Flying Fisherman brand yellow (too light to call 'em amber) polarized lenses that I've been buying for the past 4-5 years. I'd likely get something better for more money if I ever found some that I liked and thought were worth it. That has not happened yet though.

The only thing I don't really like about them is they scratch if look at dust. But hey, $20.
How do you tie the fly to your hooks without killing them with the thread? I keep cutting them in half.
darrin terry

Postby planettrout » February 12th, 2012, 12:19 am

Daughter to Father, "How many arms do you have? How many fly rods do you need?"

http://planettrout.wordpress.com/
planettrout

Postby Artin » February 12th, 2012, 8:02 am

Actually, I did some research about glasses.
You're best off having 2 shades. One for bright days and another for low light conditions. Most do not have 2 which is fine. (I am one of them)