REALTIME FLOWS    U. Kern: n/a cfs    L. Kern: 1341 cfs    E.W: 312 cfs    U. Owens: 108 cfs    L. Owens: 496 cfs   09/02/19 1:15 PM PST

Fly rod set up

Here's where new(er) members can check in for how to's, tips, etiquette, etc. Feel free to ask questions as 'an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure..'

Fly rod set up

Postby Jones » October 22nd, 2013, 8:14 am

I'm new to fly fishing but not fishing. I'm considering the Orvis Access 5wt 8'6" . I would be fishing the Owens and kern, really any where in southern ca. Is this going to be a good set up for this area and type of fishing? Thank you in advance for your input.
Jones

Re: Fly rod set up

Postby silverlaker » October 22nd, 2013, 4:51 pm

I don't have much experience with Orvis rods. However I'm sure someone will chime in. An 8'6" 5wt is a good all around rod though. I typically fish a 9' 4wt for those same waters. If I were buying my first rod I would get a 5wt. Let us know what you settle on.

Tom
Fish always lose by being "got in and dressed." It is best to weigh them while they are in the water. The only really large one I ever caught got away with my leader when I first struck him. He weighed ten pounds. —Charles Dudley Warner
silverlaker

Postby stanbery » October 22nd, 2013, 5:00 pm

Orvis is a nice rod but for your first rod you could go a little cheaper such as a redington or a echo rod/kit that will have everything you will need to get started.
Good luck.
Jon
2013: Days on the Water so far - 29
2014: Days on the Water so far - 28
stanbery

Postby Jones » October 22nd, 2013, 5:59 pm

Tom, thanks. I'm meant 9' tip flex 5wt access with access reel.

Jones
Jones

Postby midger » October 22nd, 2013, 6:22 pm

First off, welcome to the forum. It's a great place to hang out, read trip reports, and set up fishing dates with folks you've never met. You'll also be able to get lots of tips, etc.